You Can’t Create Accountability

One attribute of a great leader is accountability. And what I’ve learned is that you cant create accountability, it must be taken. 

 

I don’t claim to be the best leader, but I’d say I’m a pretty damn good one. It’s about progress, not perfection. I love to keep my team energized and find creative ways to keep them engaged. I’m mean let’s face it, work can’t always be sunshine and rainbows, but as a leader I genuinely care about the team I’m leading and want to provide them with the utmost support. Their success, is my success.

Some things I’ve learned about being a leader and managing a team:

  • Accept responsibility, learn from those mistakes,  and pledge to do better.
  • It’s not about just working well with your team, it’s about working well with other leads and managers.
  • Criticize in private, praise in public- that builds trust.
  • Communicate clear expectations and directions.
  • Recognize and reward team members in front of their colleagues, it stimulates everyone to work harder.
  • Establish the right meeting pulse. Weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.
  • Difficult conversations are inevitable and crucial for growing your company and team members.
    • GROW. When having those difficult conversations, approach it with the GROW acronym.
      • G: GOALS – State the purpose of the conversation and assure your team member you are there to help them improve.
      • R: REALITY – State the facts about the behavior or performance that needs to be addressed.
      • O: OPTIONS – Provide a few solutions on how the team member can improve their behavior or performance
      • W: WILLINGNESS – Is your team member willing to work on the issue? Conclude the conversation with an agreement

As a leader, it’s my duty to constantly strive to do better, and be better for my team. They rely on me for structure and support and I want them to know I always have their back.

– With Ambition

 

 

Leave a Reply

