How will you be remembered and what is the legacy you’re leaving behind?

Your smile is your logo, your personality is your business card, how you leave others feeling after having an experience with you becomes your trademark. I can only hope I leave an everlasting trademark with those I cross paths with and have given them something positive to remember me by.

As morbid as it may sound, I often think about ‘that’ day. The day that people gather round for my funeral and I think, “what will they say?”

I hope than after I have gone that the remnants of a life well-lived will follow in my wake, and I don’t desire this for selfish reasons, but in the hope that somehow maybe I impacted a life or more in a positive way. I would hope that people felt loved by me, and perhaps they even learned how to love unconditionally by my example.life is a highway

In all honesty, I don’t like funerals. I mean who does. I hate to see people cry. Anyone who knows me, knows I’m extremely sensitive to emotion and  when I see pain or crying I feel that pain deeply.  I suppose when my time comes I hope there will be less tears and more laughter. A celebration if you will, and less grieving.

But back to my original point, my ‘legacy’. As I get older, I believe one of the MOST important questions you can ask yourself in life, to ensure that at the end, you won’t have regrets, is “How will I be remembered?”

And with that, I’d like to ask for an honest appraisal from my friends and family. If you could share one of the most positive things and one of the most challenging things that stands out about me over all the rest via the comments, or private message that would be awesome.

Until then, I’m going to enjoy life as it comes and experience all that I can, while I can.

How would you be remembered, if your life ended today?

One of the most inspiring videos I’ve watched was about a guy by the name of Zach Sobiech. At the age of 17 years old, Zach was diagnosed with osteosarcoma, a rare form of bone cancer. With only a few months to live, he found a way to leave his legacy behind through music.

One thought on “How will you be remembered and what is the legacy you’re leaving behind?

  1. Ive always centered myself by looking at life as a whole. My theory is that the only thing in LIFE that cant be solved is DEATH…ironic isn’t it? So to center myself, I think about will this matter when I die? Nope, because I will be dead anyhow. Do I look goofy today? Who cares? Will that truly matter when I die? Nope.

Leave a Reply

