Some Guidance to My Sisters Starting High School

PicMonkey Collage

 

 

It’s crazy to see both my sisters, Savanna and Faith are entering high school. I personally loved my high school experience. I made some pretty amazing friends and learned so much. High school really is a transformational time in your life. You can embrace and learn all there is from it and create some of the best memories of your life from it or you can get sucked into 4 years of absolute drama and hate it.

While our relationship is different than that of sisters closer to the same age, I want you to know I can still relate and I will always be here if either of you need someone to talk to.

I hope the following words of advice and encouragement to follow find you both well, and give you some comfort that you are not alone.

1) Be kind. Be sincere.

Learn to put yourself in check when it comes to attitude. Be accepting and nice to everyone you meet. Remember, the only people who are going to care about who was cool or uncool ten years down the road are those  individuals who are still clinging to their high school popularity. But a small act of kindess and unselfishness you extend to someone? Someone is going to remember that, believe me! You two are not mean girls and let’s just be honest, no one likes a snotty girl, they don’t even like themselves. So don’t get sucked into being one.

2) Branch out and try new things. Find yourself!

Don’t wait till Junior/Senior year to try a sport or join a club. I did, and slightly regret it. I really enjoyed the clubs I participated in my Senior year, but boy did I miss out making the most of  all four years.

3) Think Twice.

I can preach to you both till I’m blue in the face and you may stray from my advice, but give every action a second thorough thought. I really do want what’s best for you as do mom and dad. They really do have your best interest at heart. I swear.

4) Keep your grades up.

There’s this thing called a GPA and it can be your best friend or your enemy, depending on how you approach it. High school is about to get a bit harder. Learn to apply yourself and and take initiative now, don’t wait and scramble til the last minute (i.e. your Junior/Senior year.)

5) Make the best of friends.

Nothing feels better than saying I’ve known some my best of friends for more than 20 years. Some friends will come and go and that’s okay. You will learn that your social group will shift, and it’s not the end of the world. And you will make friends with people you never thought you would. High school will surprise you.

 

Remember, call me if you need me. Even if it’s 2am.

I love you both!

❤ Star

PS. If you want a good laugh or some vital advice from some of my friends about high school go take a peek here> High School Advice

 

 

Leave a Reply

